Call Your Daughter Home - Deb Spera

Call Your Daughter Home

By Deb Spera

  • Release Date: 2019-06-11
  • Genre: Literary
Score: 4.5
4.5
From 297 Ratings

Description

Featured on Oprah’s Summer Reading List

For readers of Delia Owens’ Where the Crawdads Sing and Sue Monk Kidd’s The Secret Life of Bees, this extraordinary historical debut novel follows three fierce Southern women in an unforgettable story of motherhood and womanhood.

It’s 1924 in Branchville, South Carolina and three women have come to a crossroads. Gertrude, a mother of four, must make an unconscionable decision to save her daughters. Retta, a first-generation freed slave, comes to Gertrude’s aid by watching her children, despite the gossip it causes in her community. Annie, the matriarch of the influential Coles family, offers Gertrude employment at her sewing circle, while facing problems of her own at home.

These three women seemingly have nothing in common, yet as they unite to stand up to injustices that have long plagued the small town, they find strength in the bond that ties women together. Told in the pitch-perfect voices of Gertrude, Retta, and Annie, Call Your Daughter Home is an emotional, timeless story about the power of family, community, and ferocity of motherhood.

“Like Jill McCorkle and Sue Monk Kidd, Spera probes the comfort and strength women find in their own company.”
— O, The Oprah Magazine

“A mesmerizing Southern tale…Authentic, gripping, a page-turner, yet also a novel filled with language that begs to be savored.”
— Lisa Wingate, New York Times Bestselling Author of Before We Were Yours

Reviews

  • Amazing.

    5
    By Melissa 1002
    Read this book in under 24 hours. I haven’t done that in more than 15 years.
  • My kind of book!

    5
    By Enerergen
    I woke up at 4:08 am eager to finish this book. Are you a fan of a “good southern novel”. It’s my favorite flavor. It reads more like painted words, more like visual art. The story could be told in a minimal of pages but the treasure can only be harvested page by page. Info about the author is a worthy read as well. She creates strong characters, not because of who they were but how they were. I can’t wait for more from Deb
  • Incredible!

    5
    By Bear's Mama
    This book was moving & beautifully written. I cannot recommend it highly enough. Undoubtably will read it over & over.